Learning Through Doing

A theme in today’s society which is heavily reflected by our education system is a sense of urgency and a demand for things to be immediate which forces us to rush through life without taking time to reflect and learn from our experiences. Through careful thought and intentful action we can learn from successes and failures alike, but only if we dedicate time and effort toward this step in our continuous education.

Through putting together this blog over the last month, I have learned the value of taking small steps toward progression even if these do not follow a linear path, because it is better than standing stagnant. This assignment gave us the freedom to make what we wanted out of our blogs. This initially had me excited and filled with so many ideas that I thought I would have no problem completing the project. But as time came to get started, I found myself disoriented, and unsure how to organize a blog and keep a main focus. So I found a starting point, and things progressed from there. As I thought of where to take my blog next, I found that I could insert certain ideas I had had from the beginning. For instance, Prince Ea’s video about the school system had been something I wanted to draw from, and I found that it supported my argument in the implications post without taking away from the structure of my blog. By making efforts to keep moving forward, I was able to keep progressing and learn how to do so more effectively.

Something I struggled with in my writing was minimizing bias. My posts have made it obvious that this is something I care about and have a strong stance on, but in order to be objectively informative, I needed to suppress that as best I could. What caused a shift in mentality for me was when someone commented on my post about the Constitution not guaranteeing the right to equal education. The comment explained the concern with having the federal government take a more active position in education, and though I’d read about the argument in my research, having an actual person express this concern suddenly humanized the argument. This was a good reminder of the power of dialogue, and how taking time to listen and putting yourself in another’s shoes can lead to a knew found respect and validity of concern, even if you still disagree.

And of course, this blog being about funding of public schools, I’ve been doing a lot reflection on education. Thinking about my role as a student over the last 17 or so years has furthered my understanding that you get out of an experience what you put into it. Throughout school, a lot of assignments can seem rather dull, but approaching things with enthusiasm and a spirit to learn can have a massive effect on the outcome. It has also made me thing of the quote often accredited to Mark Twain “I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.” Though school can provide us with a great base of knowledge and skills for life, we cannot be limited to what it has to teach us, nor let it get in the way of other great experiences. Every experience is a learning opportunity, and the best way to grow is to seek out these opportunities.

calvin and hobbes

Leave a Reply

