Looking Back

At the beginning of this blog project, I was slightly daunted by the task at hand. Tackling the entirety of a controversial issue such as gun control in a way that can appeal to many readers of differing view points is no easy task, and I wanted to make my blog somewhere that many people could find relatable discussion. One of my main goals was to push myself as a writer, but also a member of society for which this issue is increasingly relevant. I also wanted to challenge my own personal viewpoint on gun control, exploring the realm of deregulation that I would typically stray from. My hope is that I was able to offer my audience compelling arguments, not just for the side I stand on (increased control), but also for the other argument towards personal autonomy of firearms. To help organize this assignment and give it some direction, I sat down and tediously researched various potential subtopics within the world of gun control that readers might be curious about or find something new that they hadn’t learned prior to visiting my blog. I really strived to find compelling videos, images, and political cartoons that showed the nature of the gun control debate in the United States and that hopefully would provide further insight into how our culture treats firearms. This project required extensive time to research topics for each week’s posts, as well as creative effort in trying to find interesting topics that viewers might find intriguing. However, now at its end, I believe that it has helped me grow immensely as not just as a writer, but a thinker. It has challenged me to challenge myself, and my own personal beliefs, and I think that it is this aspect that has resonated with me as the most valuable take-away from this blog.

“It has forced what often times I feel is a lost art in this generation of education- critical thinking- and forced us to give thought to information we usually just accept as truth.”

It has created an invaluable interconnection between the intellectual thoughts of myself and my peers, allowing us to ponder each others’ topics and explore many different social issues from new perspectives. It has forced what often times I feel is a lost art in this generation of education- critical thinking- and forced us to give thought to information we usually just accept as truth. I am very proud of the work that myself and my classmates have accomplished through this blog project, educating ourselves further about societal issues, but also furthering our own development as critical thinkers in a society that has learned to devalue this essential quality. Thank you to everyone who has followed my blog throughout these past few weeks, I hope that it has challenged your own personal beliefs as it has challenged my own.

Leave a Reply

