It May Be Over But I’m Not Finished

My goal for this project was to gain a new perspective on a topic that I take to heart. I knew coming into this project after having chosen such a meaningful topic would mean reading articles and ideas of people that I did not agree or understand with, but I was able to do it and learned a lot more than I thought I would. Before this project I knew a lot about the Syrian Refugee Crisis from hearing my dad talk about it, the news, personal interest and family involvement, so I honestly did not think there was much else to learn.

I was very wrong.

It is impossible to know everything about everything, but when limiting oneself to a certain perspective, opinion, or belief it you are doing more harm than good. With each blog, I tried to incorporate views and ideas that did not reflect my own, and tried to do so consistently to intentionally force not only myself but also my readers to explore different perspectives; in turn I learned so much more than I ever thought I would. Just because I do not believe some of the ideas that I read about does not mean that they are not important to the Syrian Refugee Crisis. Even the opinions of those who oppose aiding refugees are important because without them there can be no improvement. Why do some people oppose sending aid? Why do people fear practicers of Islam? How could bringing Syrian refugees into the U.S. be a bad thing? I had never thought to explore these questions because I had never thought of them, but by forcing myself to approach the topic at hand in new ways, I better understood the Syrian Refugee Crisis as a whole, which now includes all people of the world, not only the Syrians.

Now I realize there is still much more learning to do. I can better myself by attempting to maintain an unbiased (or at least an equal understanding of all perspectives) approach to any further research I do on the Syrian Refugee Crisis. As a result, I can figure out the ways in which I can provide the most support to the most people, and hopefully encourage others to do the same.

Additionally, not only have I increased my knowledge about my own choice of topic, but I have also enjoyed learning about other topics that I had never investigated before. My fellow bloggers have provided amazing information on a wide variety of topics and I am very appreciative of it. I saw a quote that reads:

“What we learn with pleasure we never forget.” -Alfred Mercier

And I can say I have thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

Leave a Reply

